The Five Heresies

Only available on StudyMode
  • Topic: Christian terms, First Council of Ephesus, Council of Chalcedon
  • Pages : 1 (258 words )
  • Download(s) : 81
  • Published : February 10, 2014
Open Document
Text Preview

Theology II

Ecclesiology Project
Monophysitism: A heresy of the late fifth and early sixth centuries that taught that there is only one nature in the person of Christ, the divine nature. Following the council of Chalcedon in 451, those who accepted the monophysite position formed what are called the Oriental Orthodox churches. Gnosticism: Formed part of the gnostic library, had to do with a valuable source of information about gnostic beliefs and practices. Gnosticism and Marcionism, both of which claimed that the physical world is undesirable. A series of ancient beliefs that teaches people that they should turn away from the spiritual salvation of Christians and turn to salvation from the material world.Gnostics don’t believe that God’s word is true. They believe in gnosis, which is mythological and secret knowledge. Nestorianism: In AD 428, Nestorious, the patrich of Constantinople, declared that Mary should not be called the mother of God (theotokos) but should be referred to only the mother of Christ. Pelagianism: the theological doctrine put forward by Pelagius which denied original sin and affirmed the ability of humans to be righteous; condemned as heresy by the Council of Ephesus in 431. Arianism: Was one of the most pervasive and tenacious heresies in the early church. The persistence of Arianism in Spain and in many parts of northern Africa into the seventh century may have eased the Moslem conquest and allowed for the acceptance of the Islamic faith by many who had been Christians.

I used multiple resources for this project. Many of them were from google search.