The Essay

Only available on StudyMode
  • Topic: States and territories of India, India, Federalism
  • Pages : 1 (250 words )
  • Download(s) : 114
  • Published : May 11, 2013
Open Document
Text Preview
The Government of India (referred to as the Union Government) was established by the Constitution of India, and is the governing authority of a federal union of 28 states and 7 union territories. The governance of India is based on a tiered system, where in the Constitution of India appropriates the subjects on which each tier of government has executive powers. The Constitution uses the Seventh Schedule to delimit the subjects under three categories, namely the Union list, the State list and the Concurrent list. Asymmetric federalism

A distinguishing aspect of Indian federalism is that unlike many other forms of federalism, it is asymmetric.[6] Article 370 makes special provisions for the state of Jammu and Kashmir as per its Instrument of Accession. Article 371 makes special provisions for the states of Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Goa, Mizoram, Manipur, Nagaland and Sikkim as per their accession or state-hood deals. Also one more aspect of Indian federalism is system of President's Rule in which the central government (through its appointed Governor) takes control of state's administration for certain months when no party can form a government in the state or there is violent disturbance in the state. Coalition politics

Although the Constitution does not say so, India is now a multilingual federation.[7] India has a multi-party system,with political allegiances frequently based on linguistic, regional and caste identities,[8] necessitating coalition politics, especially at the Union level.Coalition politics have created a balance in the legislatures.
tracking img