The Cell Cycle

Only available on StudyMode
  • Download(s) : 71
  • Published : March 19, 2013
Open Document
Text Preview
Cell cycle is the life cycle of a cell - basically from the time it is "born" until the time that it "dies" each stage of the cell cycle G1 (Gap1), S, G2 (Gap2), & M (mitosis)all have unique events that occur within each. Within the G1 & G2 stages is when the cell does the majority of its growing. S stage is when the cell synthesizes (or copies) its DNA and M phase is Mitosis or when the cell actually does the dividing.

Each of these stages has to occur and in the correct order for the cell to prepare itself for the ultimate goal of dividing. 1.   Interphase (can be divided further into 4 stages)
   A. Gap 0 (no longer dividing).
   B. GAP 1 (cell grows).
   C. Synthesis (replication of the DNA).
   D. Gap 2 (cell prepares to divide).

At the mitosis stage the cell divides. It is sub-divided into 5 stages; 1. Prophase - The replicated chromosomes condense and the mitotic spindle assembles outside the nucleus.

2. Prometaphase - The membrane around the nucleus disintegrates, enabling the mitotic spindle to connect with the chromosomes.

3. Metaphase - All of the chromosomes gather at the center of the mitotic spindle.

4. Anaphase - Chromosomes split apart and pull to opposite sides of the cell.

5. Telophase - The nuclear envelope regroups around the two new sets of separated chromosomes and forms two nuclei so that gene transcription can resume. At the end of one cell cycle the daughter cells are produced.
tracking img