Tda 2.5 Schools as Organisations

Only available on StudyMode
  • Download(s) : 1335
  • Published : January 15, 2013
Open Document
Text Preview
TDA 2.5|
Schools as Organisations|

What are the main types of schools and what are their characteristics?3
What are the main types of schools and what are their characteristics? (continued)4
What are school governors and what do they do?5
What is a Senior Management Team and what do they do?6
What is a SENCO and what do they do?7
What are the roles of Teachers and Support Staff?8
What are the aims and values of the school and how are they upheld?9
What are the laws and codes of practice affecting work in schools?11
Why do schools have policies and procedures?14
What policies does Frosterley Community School use?15
Identify the roles and responsibilities of national and local government for education policy and practice17
What is the role of schools in national policies relating to children, young people and their families?18

What are the main types of schools and what are their characteristics? All schools can be grouped into 1 of 2 types. They are either Local Authority (LA) Schools or Independent Schools. LA Schools are maintained by the government, they have to follow the guidelines of the LA and they do not organise their own admissions. Parents do not have to pay for their child to attend a LA school. What sorts of schools are LA schools?

* Nursery School – These are not linked to a school and children will attend from roughly 3-5 years * Nursery Unit – These are attached to a school and again children usually attend from around 3 to 5 years. * Primary School – These are sometimes called Infant and Junior Schools. Children start school once they are 4 fulltime and begin in the EYFS. They then make the transition to KS1 and stay there until they are around 7 and then they move into KS2 where they stay until they move to secondary education at aged 11. * Secondary Schools – These are sometimes called First or Middle schools in other parts of the country. Children start in KS3 at age 11 and then move onto KS4 when they are 14 to study for their GCSE’s. * Academies – These are sometimes called Beacon Schools. Academies are schools that have received an outstanding OFSTED report. * Specialist Schools – These are schools that specialise in a particular subject such as Arts, Sports or Sciences. * SEN Schools – These are schools that only accept children onto their roll that have SEN. There are currently only primary and secondary SEN schools, there are no nurseries.

What are the main types of schools and what are their characteristics? (continued)

What sorts of schools are Independent Schools?
Independent schools are not governed by the LA but they still have to follow some of their rules. Most Independent Schools are private which means that parents will pay fees to the school in order for their child to be able to attend. Independent schools arrange their own admissions. Religious Schools are independent too as they are usually only open to people who follow the particular faith of the school. Independent schools range from EYFS all the way through to KS4.

What are school governors and what do they do?

School governors are members of their school's governing body. Individual governors have no power or right to act on behalf of the governing body except where the whole governing body has delegated a specific task to that individual. School governors are chosen from different parts of the community and can be parents and staff or from the LA, the community and other groups. This helps ensure the governing body has a range of views. The governing body has a range of duties and powers and a general responsibility for the conduct of the school. Its responsibilities include but are not limited to: * setting targets for pupil achievement

* managing the school's finances
* making sure the curriculum is balanced and broadly based * appointing staff
* Reviewing staff performance and...
tracking img