Stages of Team Development

Topics: Team, Group dynamics, The A-Team Pages: 2 (316 words) Published: November 2, 2010

The 4 stages that all teams go through are:

• Forming
• Storming
• Norming
• Performing

The Forming, Storming, Norming and Performing model of group development was first proposed by Bruce Tuckman in 1965. He said that these phases are all necessary and vital for the team to grow, to face up to challenges, to tackle problems, to find solutions, to plan work, and to deliver results.

Forming Stage 1

The team meets and learns about the opportunity and challenges, and then agrees on goals and begins to tackle the tasks. The individuals do not know each other well therefore relationships are very formal.

At this stage efforts should be made to help the team to get to know each other as feelings, weaknesses and mistakes are covered up and there is no shared understanding of what needs to be done.

Storming Stage 2

In the storming stage different ideas compete for consideration as members are starting to communicate honestly. The team addresses issues such as what problems they are really supposed to solve, how they will function independently and together. Team members open up to each other and confront each other's ideas and perspectives testing each others strengths and weaknesses.

Norming Stage 3

Team members adjust their behavior to each other as confidence and trust begins to emerge. Team members often work through this stage by agreeing on rules as they realise that they can work together. During this phase, team members begin to trust each other therefore they listen to each others opinions and take them into consideration

Performing Stage 4

At this stage teams are able to function as a unit as they find ways to get the job done smoothly and effectively without inappropriate conflict. Team member’s focus on the task as hierarchy becomes of little importance as the team uses the diverse strengths of the team members.
Continue Reading

Please join StudyMode to read the full document

You May Also Find These Documents Helpful

  • Stages of Team Development Essay
  • Stages of Group Development Essay
  • 5 Stages of Team Development Essay
  • Essay on Stages Of Team Development
  • : Discuss the Stages of Group Development and the Implications of Them for the Development of the Teams at Levi Strauss. Essay
  • Teamwork: Group Development and Team Essay
  • 7 Stages of Development Essay

Become a StudyMode Member

Sign Up - It's Free