Sentrong Sigla

Topics: Quality assurance, Health care, Quality management Pages: 18 (5511 words) Published: November 30, 2012
“All the evidence that we have, indicates that it is reasonable to assume in practically every human being, and with certainly in almost every newborn baby, that there is an active will toward health, an impulse toward growth, or towards the actualization.” -Abraham Maslow

Department of Health or the Kagawaran ng Kalusugan is the principal health agency here in the Philippines. The department is responsible for ensuring access to basic public health services to all Filipinos through the provision of quality health care and the regulation of providers of health goods and services. DOH has three major roles in the health sector: (1) leadership in health, (2) enabler and capacity builder, and (3) administrator or specific services.

The DOH’s vision is to be the leader of health for all in the Philippines, and its mission is to guarantee equitable, sustainable and quality health for all Filipinos, especially the poor, and to lead the quest for excellence in health.

While pursuing its vision, DOH adheres to the highest value of work such as: integrity, excellence, compassion and respect for human dignity, commitment, professionalism, teamwork and stewardship of the health of the people.

Because of the department’s dedication in guaranteeing equitable, accessible, sustainable and quality health services for all Filipinos, especially the vulnerable group, the department has formulated different programs to ensure quality health services and one of them is the Sentrong Sigla Program.

Sentrong Sigla
The Department of Health’s (DOH) Quality in Health (QIH) Program seeks to institutionalize Continuous Quality Improvement or CQI in health care in order to create health impact in terms of health promotion and disease prevention control. Sentrong Sigla Certification has been identified as one of the components and strategies of this program. The quality standards cover total systems quality for outpatient care and public services graduated into three levels. This quality standards list (QSL) covers the basic certification level or Level 1. The next higher levels of specialty award and award for excellence, Levels 2 and 3 respectively have their own standards lists. Aside from the QSL, other tools available for use of the health facility staff are the Supervisory Forms (SF) and the Facility Certification Form (FCF).

The Birth of Sentrong Sigla
Quality Assurance Program (QAP)
Goal: To make DOH and LGUs active partners in providing quality health services. Key Strategies:
1. Certification / Recognition Program (CRP)
2. Continuous Quality Improvement (CQI)
In 1999, QAP was renamed the Sentrong Sigla (“Center of Vitality”) Movement (SSM). Sentrong Sigla Movement
Goal: Quality health – quality health care, services and facilities. Objectives: Better and more effective collaboration between DOH and LGUs.
Where DOH: serves as a provider of technical and financial assistance package for health care.
LGU: serves as prime developers of health systems and direct implementers of health programs. Specific Objectives:
* Institutionalization of quality assurance
* SS certification targeting 50 % of health facilities in 2003 and 60% in 2004. Pillars:
* Quality assurance
* Grants and technical assistance
* Awards
* Health promotions
Phase| Period| Standards|
I| 1998 – 2000| Input Quality |
II| 2001 – 2004| Process Quality|
III| 2005 – 2010| Outcome or Impact Quality|

Guiding Principles for Sentrong Sigla Movement
To ensure that Sentrong Sigla remains focused on its quality goals and objectives, the following guiding principles are hereby adopted: * Recognition for achieving good quality shall be the main incentive in SS certification. Advocacy and social mobilization activities should be used to enhance the value of prestige and recognition. Other incentives shall not be overemphasized and should only be secondary to...
Continue Reading

Please join StudyMode to read the full document

Become a StudyMode Member

Sign Up - It's Free