3. Create a contribution margin income statement for Salem Data Services. Assume that intracompany usage is 205 hours. Assume commercial usage is at the March level.
4. Assuming the intracompany demand for service will average 205 hours per month, what level of commercial revenue hours of computer use would be necessary to break even each month?
Since the intracompany demand is known to be 205 hours, the contribution from these sales is assured to cover a portion of the fixed costs. Thus, to determine the level of commercial revenue hours required to break even, the contribution from commercial sales only needs to cover the fixed costs remaining after subtracting the fixed costs already covered by the contribution from intracompany sales.
5. Estimate the effect on income of each of the options Flores has suggested if Wu estimates as follows: c. Increasing the price to commercial customers to $1000 per hour would reduce demand by 30%.
Commercial Sales revenue would decrease by ~11.5%
d. Reducing the price to commercial customers to $600 per hour would increase demand by 30%.
Commercial Sales Revenue would decrease by ~10.1%
e. Increased promotion would increase revenue hours by up to 30%. Wu is unsure how much promotion this would take. (How much could be spent and still leave Salem Data Services with no reported loss each month if commercial hours were increased 30%?)
Increasing the amount of...