Research Topics in Optometry

Only available on StudyMode
  • Download(s) : 1116
  • Published : January 3, 2012
Open Document
Text Preview
Postgraduate research topics
Department of Optometry and Vision Science

Postgraduate research topics
The following is a list of research topics offered at the doctorate (PhD), masters and honours level. »
Honours
»
Masters
»
PhD
Honours

Research Topics| Affiliation - Faculty and Dept| Supervisor/s details| Comparison of animal models of age related nuclear cataract| Optometry and Vision Science| Professor Paul Donaldson p.donaldson@auckland.ac.nz|

Mapping antioxidant transporter expression in the front of the eye| Optometry and Vision Science| Dr Julie Lim j.lim@auckland.ac.nz|
Electron microscopy of protein trafficking in the lens| Optometry and Vision Science| Dr Angus Grey ac.grey@auckland.ac.nz|
Modelling of lens function | Optometry and Vision Science| Dr Ehsan Vaghefi e.vaghefi@auckland.ac.nz|
Exploring neural plasticity in the human visual cortex| Optometry and Vision Science| Dr. Ben Thompson b.thompson@auckland.ac.nz|
Development of aids for colour deficient optometrists| Optometry and Vision Science| Dr. Misha Vorobyev m.vorobyev@auckland.ac.nz|
Botox: as a tool for eye therapy?
 | Optometry and Vision Science| Dr Monica Acosta:m.acosta@auckland.ac.nz| Top

Masters

Research Topics| Affiliation - Faculty and Dept| Supervisor/s details| Developing functiuonal assays to study membrane protein function in the core of the lens| Optometry and Vision Science| Professor Paul Donaldson p.donaldson@auckland.ac.nz|

Chromatic and achromatic vision in reef fish| Optometry and Vision Science| Dr. Misha Vorobyev m.vorobyev@auckland.ac.nz|
Colour preference in the honeybee| Optometry and Vision Science| Dr. Misha Vorobyev m.vorobyev@auckland.ac.nz|
Clinical tests for colour vision defects| FoS (Optometry and Vision Science)| Assoc Prof Rob Jacobs r.jacobs@auckland.ac.nz|
Defocus and visual function| FoS (Optometry and Vision Science)| Assoc Prof Rob Jacobs r.jacobs@auckland.ac.nz|
Visual characteristics of NZ population groups| FoS (Optometry and Vision Science)| Assoc Prof Rob Jacobs r.jacobs@auckland.ac.nz|
Assessment of refractive error in low vision| FoS (Optometry and Vision Science)| Assoc Prof Rob Jacobs r.jacobs@auckland.ac.nz|
Clinical research topics in optometry| FoS (Optometry and Vision Science)| Assoc Prof Rob Jacobs r.jacobs@auckland.ac.nz|
How does a cell die? Analysis of photoreceptor cells| FoS (Optometry and Vision Science| Dr Monica Acosta:m.acosta@auckland.ac.nz| Top

PhD

Research Topics| Affiliation - Faculty and Dept| Supervisor/s details| Functional characterization of glucose transporters in the lens| Optometry and Vision Science| Professor Paul Donaldson p.donaldson@auckland.ac.nz|

Visualization of cell signaling pathways in the ocular lens| Optometry and Vision Science| Professor Paul Donaldson p.donaldson@auckland.ac.nz|
Functional characterization of the cystine/glutamate exchanger in the lens: a potential therapy to delay age related nuclear cataract?| Optometry and Vision Science| Dr.Julie Lim j.lim@auckland.ac.nz|

Functional mapping of purinergic signalling pathways in the lens|  Optometry and Vision Science| Professor Paul Donaldson p.donaldson@auckland.ac.nz|
Studying membrane protein function in the core of the lens| Optometry and Vision Science| Professor Paul Donaldson p.donaldson@auckland.ac.nz|
Antioxidant strategies to prevent age related nuclear cataract| Optometry and Vision Science| Dr Julie Lim j.lim@auckland.ac.nz|
Investigation of physiological mechanisms that regulate normal eye growth| Optometry & Vision Science| Dr John Phillips j.phillips@auckland.ac.nz|
Investigation of methods for Inhibition of myopia progression in children.| Optometry & Vision Science| Dr John Phillips j.phillips@auckland.ac.nz|
Harnessing neural plasticity for visual rehabilitation| Optometry & Vision Science| Dr. Ben Thompson...
tracking img