Research Paper

Only available on StudyMode
  • Download(s): 9
  • Published: December 3, 2013
Read full document
Text Preview

U.S. Involvement in the Middle East
The countries of our nation are all different. They have all faced challenges, and all had their own ups and downs. The United States is a strong nation that has encountered many problems and conquered many obstacles of their own. Many of the things in our world today have evolved from events that happened in the past. OPEC, Pro- Israel, and Terrorism are all examples of these things.

The first example of a daily struggle the United States faces is the Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries, or OPEC. OPEC was formed on September 14, 1960, in Baghdad, Iraq. It is a permanent intergovernal organization, currently consisting of twelve oil producing and exporting countries, spread across three continents: America, Asia, and Africa (OPEC 1). For the people that live in these areas, oil and gas production is a very important source of income. It provides jobs for the people, revenue for the government, and a product for consumers. OPEC’s objectives are to unify petroleum policies, stabilize prices in international oil markets, and provide an efficient supply of petroleum to consumers (OPEC 1). “The OPEC statute stipulates that any country with a substantial net export of crude petroleum, which has fundamentally similar interests to those of Member Countries, may become a Full Member of the Organization, if accepted by a majority of three- fourths of Full Members, including the concurring votes of all Founder Members”. The Statute further distinguishes between three categories. OPEC is broken down into categories of membership: Founder Members, Full Members, and Associate Members. Founder members are those that were present at the meeting that formed OPEC on September 14, 1960. Those members have the final decision. Full Members are founder members, along with countries whose applications for membership have been accepted by the Conference. Associate Members are the countries which do not qualify...
tracking img