Reaction to My Sisters Keeper Movie

Only available on StudyMode
  • Download(s) : 2090
  • Published : June 4, 2012
Open Document
Text Preview
My Sister's Keeper
by Jodi Picoult About the Book
New York Times bestselling author Jodi Picoult is widely acclaimed for her keen insights into the hearts and minds of real people. Now she tells the emotionally riveting story of a family torn apart by conflicting needs and a passionate love that triumphs over human weakness. Anna is not sick, but she might as well be. By age thirteen, she has undergone countless surgeries, transfusions, and shots so that her older sister, Kate, can somehow fight the leukemia that has plagued her since childhood. The product of preimplantation genetic diagnosis, Anna was conceived as a bone marrow match for Kate — a life and a role that she has never challenged . . . until now. Like most teenagers, Anna is beginning to question who she truly is. But unlike most teenagers, she has always been defined in terms of her sister — and so Anna makes a decision that for most would be unthinkable, a decision that will tear her family apart and have perhaps fatal consequences for the sister she loves. My Sister's Keeper examines what it means to be a good parent, a good sister, a good person. Is it morally correct to do whatever it takes to save a child's life, even if that means infringing upon the rights of another? Is it worth trying to discover who you really are, if that quest makes you like yourself less? Should you follow your own heart, or let others lead you? Once again, in My Sister's Keeper, Jodi Picoult tackles a controversial real-life subject with grace, wisdom, and sensitivity.

Praise for the Book
"My Sister's Keeper is a beautiful, heartbreaking, controversial, and honest book." — Booklist [starred review] "A spellbinding suspense novel." — Publishers Weekly [starred review] "[A] tense, high-concept piece of women's fiction in the tradition of Anna Quindlen and Rosellen Brown." — Entertainment Weekly "Has the emotional tenacity to fuel tears and talk." — Daily News (New York)

1

"Picoult's characters are so compelling that the reader hopes this won't be the last time we meet." — USA Today "A thrill to read. . . . Picoult has become a master — almost a clairvoyant — at targeting hot issues and writing highly readable page-turners about them." — The Washington Post "Picoult writes with a fine touch, a sharp eye for detail, and a firm grasp of the delicacy and complexity of human relationships." — The Boston Globe "Full of insight, inspiration, and heartbreak. . . . Picoult's handling of the central issue is flawless." — San Jose Mercury News Courtesy of Washington Square Press

2

About the Author
Jodi Picoult 1966Entry updated: 04/04/2007 Birth Place: New York Personal Information: Surname is pronounced "pee- koe"; born May 19, 1966, in NY; daughter of Myron Michel (a securities analyst) and Jane Ellen (a nursery school director; maiden name, Friend) Picoult; married Timothy Warren van Leer (a technical sales representative), November 18, 1989; children: Kyle Cameron, Jacob Matthew, Samantha Grace. Education: Princeton University, B.A., 1987; Harvard University, M.Ed., 1990. Addresses: Home: P.O. Box 508, Etna, NH 03750. E-mail: c/o agent Laura Gross, lglitag@aol.com. Career: Allyn & Bacon, Inc., Newton, MA, developmental editor, 1987-88; junior high school teacher of English and creative writing in Concord and Natick, MA, 1989-91; writer, 1991–. Awards: New England Book Award Winner for Fiction, New England Booksellers Association, 2003, for her entire body of work; Best Mainstream Fiction Novel designation, Romance Writers of America, 2003, for Second Glance. WRITINGS NOVELS • Songs of the Humpback Whale, Faber & Faber (London, England), 1992. • Harvesting the Heart, Viking (New York, NY), 1994. • Picture Perfect, Putnam (New York, NY), 1995. • Mercy, Putnam (New York, NY), 1996. • The Pact: A Love Story, Morrow (New York, NY), 1998. • Keeping Faith, Morrow (New York, NY), 1999. • Plain Truth, Pocket Books (New York, NY), 2000. • Salem Falls, Pocket Books (New York,...
tracking img