Plate Boundaries

Only available on StudyMode
  • Topic: Plate tectonics, Subduction, Convergent boundary
  • Pages : 1 (271 words )
  • Download(s) : 35
  • Published : April 23, 2013
Open Document
Text Preview
Plate boundaries

Plate Boundaries is a theory of the global movement over a period of time. There are three main types of plate boundaries they are, transform boundaries, convergent boundaries, and divergent boundaries. Transform boundaries are where two plates are sliding past each other. These areas are also known as faults. Most transform boundaries are found on the ocean floor, a few however are found on land. Since these boundaries do not crunch together they to not tear or break off on to one another. Convergent boundaries are where plates crash or crunch together. Here crust is destroyed and recycled back into earth’s interior as one plate dives under another. These boundaries are also known as subduction zones. There are three types of convergent boundaries: oceanic-continental convergence, oceanic-oceanic convergence, and continental-continental convergence. Oceanic-continental convergence, is when an oceanic plate pushes in to and subducts under a continental plate. The over ridding continental plate is lifted and a mountain range is formed. Oceanic-oceanic convergence is when two oceanic plates converge. One is usually subducted under the other, and in the process a deep oceanic trench is created. Continental-continental convergence is when two continents meet dead-on, but neither subducts because the continental rocks are relatively light. Divergent boundaries are where plates are pulling apart. At these boundaries new crust is created as two or more plates pull apart from each other. As this happens new oceans form and “rifts” or separations occur on land. This is why the three main types of plate boundaries are a big part of all the movement of earth’s plates.
tracking img