Piaget and Gardner

Only available on StudyMode
  • Download(s) : 336
  • Published : October 5, 2010
Open Document
Text Preview
Piaget's view or the Nature verses Nurture discussion or Gardener's multiple intelligences? Piaget focuses on the mental processes that occur, rather than on the actual measure of the intellect. He uses four areas to define intelligence where Gardner defines nine. For Piaget these areas are a biological approach to looking at intelligence, the series of the stages, understanding, and intellectual ability. Piaget's approach focuses on the physical and mental aspects of our bodies. He also discusses how we adapt to certain situations using assimilation and accommodation. Assimilation occurs when new information is introduced to a person. Accommodation occurs when the person reorganizes schema to accommodate him or herself with the environment. He believed that all children progress through four different and very distinct stages of cognitive development in exactly the same order but there is some inconsistency in the ages at which children attain each stage. Also, each stage has major cognitive tasks which must be accomplished before moving on to the next. These include Sensorimotor, Preoperational, Concrete operational, and Formal operational.

Gardner observed that there are at least seven intelligences and that each of these intelligences has autonomous intellectual incapacities. Gardner proposed nine relatively autonomous intellectual capacities that individuals employ to approach problems: Visual/Spatial, Verbal/linguistic, Mathematical/Logical, Bodily/Kinesthetic, Musical/Rhythmic, Intrapersonal, Interpersonal, Naturalist, Existential. According to Gardner, the implication of the theory is that learning/teaching should focus on the particular intelligences of each person Piaget describes four stages of intelligence looking at them through a biological approach and believed that if one did not make it through one stage successfully then they could not move on to the next stage of intelligence. Whereas Gardner describes nine stages of intelligence,...
tracking img