Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland

Only available on StudyMode
  • Download(s) : 67
  • Published : May 22, 2013
Open Document
Text Preview
The North
Northern Ireland:
Also called Ulster
Part of the UK: called GB and Northern Ireland
Parliament in London
Queen: Elisabeth II
Divided into
Republicans , nationalists, Catholics, IRA, Sinn Fein: want to belong the Republic of Ireland Unionists, loyalists, Protestants,: want to belong to the UK

The South
The Republic of Ireland
Also called Eire (the gailic/celtic name)
Independent country
Parliament in Dublin
Most of them are Catholics

The religious divide:
In the Republic of Ireland the majority are Catholics and they want an independent state. They negotiated the Irish Free State in 1921. In 1949 The Republic of Ireland was formed, an independent country. Devalera lived on until 1975, was prime minister several times and president 1959 – 1973. In Northern Ireland the majority are Protestants: they are more affluent than the Catholics and many of them want Northern Ireland to belong to the UK. The Catholics are commonly poorer than the Protestants. They want to belong to Eire.

Important dates:
Until around 1500 Ireland was independent and one people and country, Catholics 1531 England becomes Protestant under Henry VIII (He wanted a divorce from his first wife, which the Pope denied him. Therefore he converted to Protestantism.) Around 1600 Ireland was colonised by English, Protestant settlers, especially in Northern Ireland 1690: the Battle of the Boyne

From 1790s and onwards the fight for independence
1905: the formation of Sinn Fein (“ourselves alone”)
1914-1921 The Irish Revolution
1916 The Easter Rising: Catholics took over the Post Office in Dublin, claimed Ireland independent, but were soon fought by the English 1918 IRA was organised – “The Irish Republican Army”
1921 Ireland is divided into two: the North and the South
1960s-1970s-1980s: The period is called “The Troubles” because of the fights between the Protestants and the Catholics 1998 the Good Friday Agreement, also called the Belfast Agreement: self-rule shared...
tracking img