Topics: Toronto, Local government, Coat of arms Pages: 1 (256 words) Published: December 9, 2012
Dear New comers to Toronto,

It’s always good to know that we have newcomers in Toronto! There are many great things about being a Canadian Citizen like our diversity. Our City Motto is “Diversity our strength”, which describes the city, it refers to the strength of seven municipalities. There are over 100 languages spoken here and you are more likely to find an expression of the culture in at least one neighbourhood, in the form of an ethnic event, restaurant or shops. The GTA is the place where the world meets, and mixes. The symbols on the coat of arms have their own meanings. The shield represents the two towers of Toronto city hall, which has the Capital T in the color blue. The eagle represents the native background, for the strength, bravery and power. The Columbine Flower is the symbol of the city of Scarborough.

A municipal Government in Canada is a local council authority which provides local services, facilities, safety and infrastructure for communities. Canada has three levels of Government, Federal, Provincial, and Municipal. All bylaws passed by the municipal government are subject to change by the provincial government at any time. Municipal Government have different roles, like transportation, education, Public utilities and other services, and etc. There responsible for large highways, small roads and municipal government operate bus and train services. The school board is voted directly by the people funding the municipal government from the taxes it collects. Parks are taken care by the municipal government and sewage, water and etc.
Continue Reading

Please join StudyMode to read the full document

You May Also Find These Documents Helpful

  • Newcomers aren't welcome here Essay
  • Support, Undermining, and Newcomer Socialization Essay
  • Newcomers in Canada Job Market Essay
  • You are representing the school at the newcomers assembly and have been asked to give a speech inspiring year sevens to belong, as a year...
  • Essay on Conformity and Obedience wek 6

Become a StudyMode Member

Sign Up - It's Free