National Territory of the Philippines

Topics: Spratly Islands, Visayan Islands, Philippines Pages: 26 (5376 words) Published: August 12, 2010
Map of the Republic of the Philippines
National Territory of the Philippines
(Article I)
The national territory comprises the Philippine archipelago, with all the islands and waters embraced therein, and all other territories over which the Philippines has sovereignty or jurisdiction, consisting of its terrestrial, fluvial, and aerial domains, including its territorial sea, the seabed, the subsoil, the insular shelves, and other submarine areas. The waters around, between, and connecting the islands of the archipelago, regardless of their breadth and dimensions, form part of the internal waters of the Philippines.

Island groups of the Philippines
The Philippines is divided into three island groups of Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao. Luzon and Mindanao are named after their main islands of the same names, while the Visayas (the Visayan Islands) is an archipelago Divisions

The different islands are grouped into separate island groups by virtue of their regions: Regions I to V, CAR and NCR are for Luzon, Regions VI to VIII are for Visayas, and Regions IX to XIII and ARMM are for Mindanao. If a province is reassigned into a new region, it can also be reassigned to a new island group, as is the case with Palawan, when it was reassigned from MIMAROPA. The island groups themselves do not have governments of their own, but are instead divided into provinces, cities, municipalities and barangays, which do have their own local governments.


Although the island groups do not have local governments, hence capitals, certain cities have become the political, economic and cultural centers of the island groups. Manila is the national capital and is the de facto capital of Luzon, though Quezon City, the former capital, has more inhabitants than Manila. Cebu is the largest city of the Visayas. Mindanao's main city is Davao.

Island groups
Island groupLargest cityArea (km2.)Population (2000 census) LuzonQuezon City125,86332,122,900
List of islands of the Philippines
There are 7,107 islands, of which about 4,000 are inhabited. They are clustered into the island groups of Luzon, Visayas, andMindanao. Luzon

Agutaya Island
Alabat Island
Alava Island
Albaguan Island
Albay gulf Island
Ambil Island
Babuyan Islands
Bagambangan Island
Bagatao Island
Balabac Island
Balesin Island
Balintang Island
Bancalan Island
Banton Island
Barangonan Island
Barit Island
Batan Island
Batanes Islands
Batas Island
Beni Island
Binalabag Island
Binatican Island
Bisucay Island
Bay Bay
Boayan Island
Boliungan(Luzon) Island
Bugsuk Island
Burias Island
Busuanga Island
Butauanan Island
Caban Island
Cabarruyan Island
Cabra Island
Cabuli Island
Cacnipa Island
Cadaraman Island
Cadlao Island
Calabadian Island
Calabugdong Island
Calamian Group
Calayan Island
Calibang Island
Calintaan Island
Camiguin Island
Canabungan Island
Capones Island
Carlota Island
Carnasa Island
Casian Island
Catalat Island
Cauayan Island
Chindonan Island
Coron Island
Corregidor Island
Culion Island
Cuyo Island
Dalahican Island
Dalupiri Island (Babuyan Islands)
Darocotan Island
Dequey Island
Destacado Island
Diadekey Island
Dicabaito Island
Dimipac Island
Dinem Island
Diogo Island
Ditarem Island
Dumaran Island
El Fraile Island
Flat Island
Fuga Island
Gabung Island
Galoc Island
Guintinua Island
Guntao Island
Hermana mayor Island
Hermana menor Island
Hundred Islands
Ibuhos Island
Icadambanauan Island
Igbon Island
Iloc Island
Imuruan Island
Inampulugan Island
Inatula Island
Itbayat Island
Itu Aba Island
Ivuhos Island
Jomalig Island
Kalongkooan Island
Lagen Island
Lalutaya Island
Lamud Island
Latuan Island
Linapacan Island
Looc bay Island
Lubang Island
Lumbucan Island
Mabaag Island
Mabudis Island
Macaranao Island
Maculabo Island...
Continue Reading

Please join StudyMode to read the full document

You May Also Find These Documents Helpful

  • Philippine Territory Island Essay
  • National Territory of the Philippines Essay
  • Scarborough Shoal: a Philippine Territory Essay
  • NATIONAL TERRITORY comprises of the Philippine archipelago Essay
  • Philippines: The National Achievement Test Research Paper
  • National Territory Essay
  • The National Territory Essay
  • Philippine Politics Essay

Become a StudyMode Member

Sign Up - It's Free