Mughal Empire

Only available on StudyMode
  • Download(s): 114
  • Published: June 8, 2011
Read full document
Text Preview
Shāhān-e Moġul
The Mughal Empire

Flag of the Mughal Empire

Map of Mughal Empire in 1700 CE
Mughal Empire (green) during its greatest territorial extent, c. 1700 Capital Agra; Fatehpur Sikri; Delhi
Language(s) Persian (initially also Chagatai Turkic; later also Urdu) Religion Hinduism, Sunni Islam, and syncretism
Government Absolute monarchy, unitary state
with federal structure
- 1526–1530 Babur
- 1530–1539, 1555–1556 Humayun
- 1556–1605 Akbar
- 1605–1627 Jahangir
- 1628–1658 Shah Jahan
- 1658–1707 Aurangzeb
Historical era Early modern
- First Battle of Panipat 21 April 1526
- Indian Rebellion of 1857 20 June 1858
- 1700 3,200,000 km2 (1,235,527 sq mi)
- 1700 est. 150,000,000
Density 46.9 /km2 (121.4 /sq mi)
Currency Rupee
Preceded by Succeeded by
Timurid dynasty
Delhi Sultanate
Suri dynasty
Adil Shahi dynasty
Deccan Sultanates

Maratha Empire
Durrani Empire
Company Raj
British Raj
Hyderabad State
Today part of Afghanistan
Population source:[1]
[hide]History of South Asia
Stone Age before 3300 BCE
Mature Harappan 2600–1700 BCE
Late Harappan 1700–1300 BCE
Iron Age 1200–300 BCE
Maurya Empire • 321–184 BCE
Middle Kingdoms 230 BCE–1279 CE
Satavahana • 230 BCE–220 CE
Gupta Empire • 280–550 CE
Pala Empire • 750–1140 CE
Delhi Sultanate 1206–1596
Mughal Empire 1526–1803
Maratha Empire 1674-1818
British India 1858–1947
Modern States since 1947
This box: view · talk · edit

The Mughal Empire (Persian: شاهان مغول, Shāhān-e Moġul; Urdu: مغلیہ سلطنت; self-designation: گوركانى, Gūrkānī),[2][3] or Mogul (also Moghul) Empire in former English usage, was an imperial power in South Asia that ruled a large portion of the Indian subcontinent. It began in 1526, invaded and ruled most of India by the late 17th and early 18th centuries, and ended in the mid-19th century.[4]...
tracking img