Literary Giants and Acclaimed Recipients

Only available on StudyMode
  • Download(s): 67
  • Published: April 23, 2013
Read full document
Text Preview
The talent acclaimed novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other authors of various genres are applauded by the literary world. The Nobel Prize in Literature and the Pulitzer Prize are coveted awards bestowed upon literary giants. The Pulitzer Prize is awarded to Americans; in juxtaposition, the Nobel Prize in Literature is awarded internationally. The Nobel Prize in Literature is an annual international award that is bestowed in a number of categories. In 1895 “the foundations for the prize . . . [was] laid . . . when Alfred Nobel [,a Swedish Chemist and the inventor of dynamite,] wrote his last will, leaving much of his wealth to the establishment of the Nobel Prize” (Nobel). Since 1901, the prizes have been awarded for achievements in Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine, Literature, and Peace. Each prize consists of a medal, personal diploma, and a cash award. The Pulitzer Prize is an American award for achievements in newspapers, online journals, literatures and musical compositions. It was established by an American (Hungarian born) publisher, Joseph Pulitzer, in the year 1917 and is administered by Columbia University in New York City. Prizes are awarded yearly in twenty-one categories. In twenty of these, each winner receives a certificate and a US$10,000 cash award. William Golding was an English poet, and playwright. He was born in September 19, 1917; and died In June 19, 1993 at the age of 81. He was one of the winners of the Noble Prize for literatures. Some of his books were Lord of the flies which was the one who he was more recognized for in 1954. Pincher Martin 1956, The Spire 1964, Darkness Visible 1979, Rites of Passage 1980, & Fire Down Below 1989.

power of observation, originality of imagination, virility of and remarkable talent for narration which characterize the creations of this famous author.” Yet another winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature is Ernest Miller Hemingway, who was born on...
tracking img