Introduction to String Quartet

Only available on StudyMode
  • Download(s) : 117
  • Published : October 13, 2010
Open Document
Text Preview
Ode to Joy, by Beethoven, is played as a string quartet. A string quartet consists of two violins, one viola, and one cello, and one would be able to hear all four of them, each having either a high or low pitch. The violins in Ode to Joy are mainly in high tones, whereas both the viola and cello have lower tones, as if they are the basses. In the beginning from 1:00 to 1:30 all of the instruments are playing in a soft (piano) dynamic, but when it gets to 1:35 to the end, the dynamic is changed to loud (forte). There is an exposition, which contains the first theme in a major key, and then the development comes in. In the development of Ode to Joy, there is a transition where the key changes into a minor key. After development, there is a recapitulation, which goes back to the first theme but the harmony increases its loudness, or better known as crescendo.

The String Quartet No. 15 in A minor, by Beethoven and performed by the Takacs Quartet, has an introduction that is legato but as it is still playing, it changes to allegro and then even to presto. Listening to the piece, the violin seems to be the most recognizable and is played the loudest filled with vibratos. In certain parts, all four of the notes perform staccato along with sharps and flats, which are key signatures. The String Quartet has an exposition, played in a slow-moving motive in melodic half-steps, and has not only one, but also two noticeable themes. The development section is a brief one, played in a certain melancholy melody, and then the recapitulation begins and is transposed of the two themes. Another thing, listening to one instrument at a time, the piece is played with a lot of slurs.

String Quartet No. 6 by Beethoven and performed by the Alban Berg Quartet is similar to a symphony, which has four movements. This piece has exactly four movements and they all have assorted tempos. The first one, when listening to it, is played quickly and is also known as a Sonata Allegro Form....
tracking img