Inaugural Ceromany of Sport Event.

Only available on StudyMode
  • Topic: Nepal, Prachanda, Kailali District
  • Pages : 2 (529 words )
  • Download(s) : 3442
  • Published : April 11, 2012
Open Document
Text Preview
2 Write a report for a newspaper about the inaugural ceremony of a major sporting event that took place in your city. (250 words)\

The Sixth National Games kicked off in Dhangadi of Kailali district in Far-Western region on 28th of February 2012. President Ram Baran Yadav inaugurated the Sixth National Games amid a special function at Dhangadi Stadium. President Yadav urged players to elevate patriotism and brotherhood through sports. Prime Minister Dr. Baburam Bhattarai, Finance Minister Barsa Man Pun and other ministers also attended the openingceremony. Before the inauguration of the event, players from different districts had performed various pageantries. Earlier, Nepal’s Olympian Dipak Bista had lit the cauldron of Sixth National Games at the Dhangadhi stadium. A team of former Olympians had carried the flame to Dhangadhi stadium all the way from Buddha’s birth place Lumbini. Altogether 3,619 players with 1,940 officials from five development regions, Nepal Police Club, Armed Police Force Club, PLA Club of Maoist combatants and a university team had participated in the march-past that featured during the opening ceremony. The games were held in Dhangadhi, Mahendranagar and Tikapur in the far-western region . Altogether 10 gold medals were decided on the first day of the sixth national games today. The first gold medal of the game was grabbed by Ajay Pandit Chhetri in Cycling. Pandit finished first in the national mountain bike tournament held at Dhulikhel of Kavre , after completing the stipulated distance in 2 hours 1 minute and 18 seconds. Raj kumar shrestha and Narayan Gopal Maharjan won silver and bronze in the same even respectively. Likewise in women’s category of the same event, Nirjala Tamrakar bagged gold after completing the distance in 1 hour 53 minutes and 59 seconds. The silver and broze went to Laxmi Magar and Sita Rimal respectively. Meawhile in Birgunj 8 gold medals were decided in...
tracking img