Hnc Social Care

Topics: Maslow's hierarchy of needs, Locus of control, Motivation Pages: 4 (1502 words) Published: February 17, 2013
In this report I’m going to describe the five stages of the life cycle and the anticipated development processes in which occur throughout each stage. I will also look at a service user whom I have cared for in the past and describe the needs associated with their own development. I will also describe how my knowledge and understanding of TWO contrasting psychological perspectives will inform my practice in the workplace. The human life cycle is the various points along an individual’s life when their growth and development on both physical and emotional levels change as they mature in age. There are five stages of the life cycle these are, Infancy (0-2): At this stage the child is solely dependent on their parents for their safety and wellbeing. They will also be growing very quickly. They are also dependant for their parents to feed, clean and change them. The child will relate to others by crying or smiling, as they get older they will say their first words. At this stage they will learn to trust people. Childhood (2-12): At this stage the child will learn to walk, talk and interact with others in different environments. The child will grow to be more independent and socially active especially when starting school. They will discover what’s right from wrong. The child might show early signs of puberty at this stage. Adolescence (12-21): At this stage the boy or girl will have the desire to be more independent. This can be a very confusing stage as they start to begin puberty. At this time the individual is preparing themselves for adulthood. The individuals role will change they might leave school to progress onto further education or to gain employment. Adulthood (21-65): At this stage the individual will have a range of responsibilities e.g. family, studies or job. All of the things they relied on their parents for they need to provide for themselves now. The life cycle will reproduce again as individuals have their own child. Older Adulthood (65+):...
Continue Reading

Please join StudyMode to read the full document

You May Also Find These Documents Helpful

  • HNC Social Care Psychology Essay
  • Hnc Social Care Loss & Grief Essay
  • Hnc Social Care Values Essay
  • hnc social care graded unit planning stage Essay
  • health and social care Essay
  • Social Care Essay
  • Hnc health and social care Essay
  • HNC Social Care Grief & Loss Research Paper

Become a StudyMode Member

Sign Up - It's Free