Hindu Religions Traditions Paper

Only available on StudyMode
  • Download(s) : 349
  • Published : June 30, 2010
Open Document
Text Preview
Hinduism is a complex religion that has a variety of beliefs and traditions. It is a religious tradition of Indian origin, embracing the beliefs and practices of Hindu. Hinduism is a religion of diverse gods and goddesses. Many sacred elements characterize the Hindu religion. The oldest and most sacred Hindu scriptures, the Vedas, originated around 1500 B.C. Hindus believe that Vedas are timeless. The word Veda means “knowledge.” It’s believed that this knowledge came directly from Lord Krishna, the Supreme Personality of Godhead. There are four Vedas. They are named Rig, Sama, Yajur, and Atharva. The Vedas consist of prayers to the One Divine and the divinities of nature. The Vedas also include prayers for matrimony, progeny, prosperity, concord, domestic rites, formulas for magic, and more. They deal with day-to-day necessities as well as spiritual realization. They are written in metrical verse, usually of three to four lines in length (Eastern Religions 2005).

Hinduism is the third most popular religion in the world. A lot of Hindus worship in their homes swell as Temples. Hindus usually have a small room in the house in which they keep all their deities of gods and picture’s of gods and which they pray in daily. Hindu Worship is known as puja. It can be carried out in the home of Hindus before a shrine, or in the Hindu temple, which is known as a mandir. There are many different places of Hindu worship and each one has its own special or unique features but there are certain features that are present in all places of worship. All types of mandirs whether they’re traditional or not, are special. Murtis are essential in a mandir. The murtis are the statues of god, which have a godly presence in them. In all mandirs, people to show respect to god, must observe silence. Hindu worship involves all five senses of touch, taste, smell, sight, and hearing, and what Hindus consider the five basic elements: light, fire, earth, air, and water. Hindus wash...
tracking img