Healthy Grief

Only available on StudyMode
  • Topic: Grief, Kübler-Ross model, Acceptance
  • Pages : 6 (2387 words )
  • Download(s) : 813
  • Published : July 30, 2012
Open Document
Text Preview
Running head: HEALTHY GRIEF

Healthy Grief
Monica Germaine
Grand Canyon University
Spirituality in Health Care
HLT 310V
June 25, 2012

Healthy Grief
Each day tragedy and suffering may come into people’s lives. Losing loved ones by disease, accident, natural disaster, or experiencing personal trauma is very painful. The emotional, physical, and spiritual reaction in response to these tragedies is known as grief or grieving. Grief is a natural reaction to loss and at times can be a very strong and overwhelming emotion. In this paper the writer will define and describe the model of grieving by the psychiatrist Elisabeth Kubler-Ross. Through the Biblical Story of Job, the writer will correlate his journey of grief and adversity with Kubler-Ross’s stages of grief. The emotion of joy will also be explored along with the grieving process of Scientology. Kubler-Ross – Five Stages of Grief Dr. Elisabeth Kubler-Ross pioneered methods in the support and counseling of personal trauma, grief, and grieving associated with death and dying. Her model comprises ways in which people cope and then deal with grief and tragedy. The five stages of grief is a widely accepted model of emotional and psychological responses that most people tend to experience when faced with extreme situations (Chapman, 2009). The five stages of grief include: denial, anger, bargaining, depression and acceptance. Denial is a conscious or unconscious refusal to accept facts, information, reality or anything else relating to a loss. In this stage the world becomes meaningless and overwhelming. Life makes no sense. A person may be in a state of shock trying to find a way to simply get through each day (Chapman, Kubler-Ross). Anger can manifest in different ways. People dealing with emotional upset can become angry not only with themselves but with anyone else, especially those close to them. Anger can become uncontrollable and without limits. Underneath the anger is pain, a person may feel deserted and abandoned (Chapman, Kubler-Ross). After a traumatic event or loss of a loved one, bargaining may take the form of a temporary truce. People attempt to bargain or seek to negotiate a compromise. They want life to return to what it was; they want their loved one restored. Statements like “if only…” or “what if…” are part of the bargaining stage (Kubler-Ross and Kessler). Depression is also referred to as preparatory grieving. The traumatic experiences and/or loss of a loved one are very depressing and depression is a normal and appropriate response. It is natural to feel sadness, regret, uncertainty or fear. It shows that the person has at least begun to accept the reality (Chapman, & Kubler-Ross). Acceptance is the stage of accepting the reality that the situation at hand is real or that the loss of a loved one is physically gone and recognizing that this reality is the permanent reality. As one accepts this new reality as the new norm one learns to live with it (Kubler-Ross& Kessler) Job: The Story The book of Job tells the story about a righteous man (Job) who suffered greatly. He was a just and perfect man who feared God and shunned evil. Job was blessed with great riches. He had seven sons, three daughters, and a loving wife. He owned an enormous amount of livestock (sheep, camels, oxen and donkeys) and had a large number of servants (Job 1:1-3) Satan tells God that the only reason Job is faithful and good is because of his riches. God allows Satan to test Job; however, God will not allow Satan to kill him. Satan then destroys all of Job’s livestock and all of his children and servants perish. Job passes through this test and still continues to praise God. Satan then tests Job further, afflicting him with physical aliments...
tracking img