Grieving Process

Only available on StudyMode
  • Download(s) : 105
  • Published : September 27, 2011
Open Document
Text Preview
Grieving Process

At some point in our lives, each of us faces the loss of someone or something dear to us. The grief that follows such a loss can seem unbearable, but grief is actually a healing process.

Grief is a multi-faceted response to loss, particularly to the loss of someone or something to which a bond was formed. Although conventionally focused on the emotional response to loss, it also has physical, cognitive, behavioral, social, and philosophical dimensions.

The five stages of grieving process, also known as the Kübler-Ross model, is a theory first introduced by Elisabeth Kübler-Ross in her 1969 book, On Death and Dying.

There are 5 types of grieving process:

1. Denial – At first, we tend to deny the loss has taken place, and may withdraw from our usual social contacts. This stage may last a few moments, or longer. Example: “This isn't happening to me!”

2. Anger – The grieving person may then be furious at the person who inflicted the hurt (even if she's dead), or at the world, for letting it happen. He may be angry with himself for letting the event take place, even if, realistically, nothing could have stopped it. Example: “Why is this happening to me?

3. Bargaining – Now the grieving person may make bargains with God, asking, "If I do this, will you take away the loss?" Example: “I promise I'll be a better person if…”

4. Depression – The person feels numb, although anger and sadness may remain underneath. Example: “I don’t care anymore.”

5. Acceptance – This is when the anger, sadness and mourning have tapered off. The person simply accepts the reality of the loss. Example: “This is reality. I should open my eyes.”
tracking img