Grief Process

Only available on StudyMode
  • Download(s) : 321
  • Published : June 22, 2012
Open Document
Text Preview
Running head: GRIEF PROCESS

Grief Process: Kubler-Ross and the Story of Job
Christina Anderson
Grand Canyon University
Spirituality in Health Care
May 20, 2012

Grief Process: Kubler-Ross and the Story of Job
The Five Stages of Grief was developed by Dr. Elisabeth Kubler-Ross in 1969, and consists of the stages denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance (Kubler-Ross & Kessler, 2012). However, these stages have been present since long before Kubler-Ross developed them. One instance is present in the biblical story of Job. Summary of Job

Job was a faithful follower of God. He was one of the wealthiest men in the area, yet continued to fear God and remain blameless. The Devil is given permission by God to test Job’s devotion through different means. First, Job loses his wealthy and children by means of catastrophic events (Holy Bible, 2011, Job 1:13-18). When Job still does not curse God for these occurrences, the Devil tests him by means of physical ailment in the form of boils all over his body (Holy Bible, 2011, Job 2:7). In the end, Job still acknowledges God’s power and is rewarded with good health, more wealth than before, new children, and a long life. Stage I: Denial

In Kubler-Ross’ stage of denial, the person acts as if nothing has happened and refuses to accept the loss. The person may even exhibit signs of shock. However, in the story of Job, there is no sign of denial or shock. It may be that Job entered this stage of grieving, but the way in which the story was written, none of the expected signs of denial are present. Instead, the writer focuses on Job’s steadfastness, especially with his wife, in the passage, “Shall we accept good from God, and not trouble?” (Holy Bible, 2011, Job 2:10). This actually depicts a calm person who understands that both the good and bad must be accepted in God’s plans. Stage II: Anger

The second stage of grief is anger. This stage can be the most intense of the five. According to...