Only available on StudyMode
  • Download(s) : 17
  • Published : December 27, 2012
Open Document
Text Preview
When hearing human growth and development, Sigmund Freud is the name that comes to most minds. Freud is well known in the psychology field based on his theories, including his psychoanalytic theory. This was mainly used for study the sexual mind, with main focus on the unconscious. Freud created the five stages beginning at birth to onward puberty. In the psychoanalytic theory, the oral stage begins from birth to eighteen months. Here, a child will learn about their surroundings by placing things in their mouth. This could be triggered from weaning off breast milk. The anal stage will take place from 18 months until three years of age. This is where ‘potty training’ takes place and one will learn about personal hygiene. Phallic stage will be followed from the anal stage; this will usually be seen from 3-6 years of age. In this period, a child’s main focus is on their genitals. Children will attempt to act as much as their same sex parent. This is where the terms Oedipus complex and penis envy will be seen. Oedipus complex is when a son’s main focus is on the mother’s attention. Penis envy will deal with a daughter blaming her mother for not having a penis. This stage is the most controversial by other theorists and critics. Ages from 6 to puberty will be considered the latency stage; a child will be consumed by same sex friends and activities. One will become consumed with sports and school related activities to create their gender identity. In the genital stage, which will be seen from puberty onward and this is where a child will begin to desire intimate relationships.

Freud’s psychoanalytic theories were adapted, modified, or thrown out by other theorists. Freud played a large role in the psychology field, studying the conscious and unconscious mind.

Freud's psychosexual stage theory. (2011). Retrieved from Santrock, J....
tracking img