Five Pillars of Islam

Topics: Islam, Five Pillars of Islam, Allah Pages: 2 (750 words) Published: December 13, 2011
Checkpoint: The Five Pillars of Islam
What are the central beliefs of Islam, and how are they reflected in the "Five Pillars” (McInerney, 2003)? Which of the Five Pillars do you feel would be easiest to fulfill, and which would be the most challenging (McInerney, 2003)? A central belief of Islam is monotheism. This is a belief of only one God, Allah. The believer’s purpose is to serve Allah and live a moral life by following the Five Pillars. Muslims are obligated to follow these Five Pillars in the Qur’an, the holy book to all Muslims. The Five Pillars are faith, prayer, Zakat, the fast, and hajj. All of these Pillars show devotion to Allah.

The first of the pillar of Islam is faith or Shahadah. The believer must profess God is the only god and Muhammad is His messenger. Muhammad is not a god but a messenger of God for guidance. The Qur’an requires believers tell others of Islam in order for them to make an intelligent choice.

The second pillar is prayer. The believer recites a series of prayers and passages from the Qur’an while kneeling and bowing five times a day while facing Mecca. When the prayers are recited by a congregation, all stands and bow shoulder to shoulder, without any class distinction. During the prayer, the kneeling and bowing shows submission to Allah. Repeating the prayers is believed to strengthen one’s belief in God’s existence and carry this belief deep into one’s heart and all aspect of external life. Prayer is also used to purify ones heart, develop the mind and conscience, stop evil in a person, and awakening higher aspiration and morality (Fisher, 2005).

Zakat, spiritual tithing is the third pillar. At the end of the year the believer donates two and half percent of all their income to the less fortunate. This is done for purification and growth. The belief is to help decrease the inequalities in wealth and prevention of personal greed. Charity is a necessity for Muslims.

The fourth pillar is fasting. Although...
Continue Reading

Please join StudyMode to read the full document

You May Also Find These Documents Helpful

  • Islam Five Pillars Essay
  • Essay on The Five Pillars of Islam
  • Essay about The Five Pillars Of Islam
  • Orthopraxy in Islam Essay
  • 5 Pillars of Islam and 3 Types of Muslims Essay
  • Islam and Muslims Essay
  • Islam
  • Islam and Judaism Essay

Become a StudyMode Member

Sign Up - It's Free