Five Pillars

Topics: Muhammad, Islam, Prophets of Islam Pages: 3 (1083 words) Published: May 3, 2013
The foundation of Islam is based on two things Eeman (faith) and the five pillars (acts of worship). Eeman means acceptance of all the beliefs, ''The requirements of faith are that you should believe in Allah and in His Angels and in His Books and in His Prophets and in the Last Day and that you should believe in Allah's determination of good or of evil.'' (Hadith-Muslim) The five pillars are present in both the Sahih al-Bukhari and the Sahih Muslim ahadith, in which the angel Gabriel came while Muhammad was sitting in the company of some people, and taught Muhammad the act of worship known as ''Five Pillars''. The five pillars are: Shahadah (declaration of faith), Salat (five daily obligatory prayers), Zakat (alms), Fasting during Ramadan, and Hajj (pilgrimage to Mecca).

The first part of worship the Shahadah or the declaration of Faith is ''there is none worthy of worship but Allah and Muhammad is the Messenger of Allah''. In order to be a Muslim, it is required to declare that there is none worthy of worship except Allah. In Arabic, Allah has no other meaning but one God, the Creator of everything that exists. Hence, it is important for Muslims to not associate any partners with God in Islam. Also, a Muslim must declare that Muhammad is the messenger of Allah, and that there will be no prophet after Muhammad. Therefore, He is the last prophet and is sent for not just one religion, but for all mankind till the Last Day.

The second act of worship is Salat or prayer, which means glorification and praise. Salat was instructed by Allah to Muhammad during the Mi'raj (night journey to heaven). A Muslim does Salat five times a day, starting with Fajr prayer (in the morning before sunrise), then Zohr prayer (just after midday), Asr prayer (in the late afternoon), Maghrib prayer (just after sunset), and Isha prayer (later in the evening). When practicing these five prayers, there are three categories: Fardh prayer which is obligatory, Sunnah prayer which...
Continue Reading

Please join StudyMode to read the full document

You May Also Find These Documents Helpful

  • Islam Five Pillars Essay
  • Essay about The Five Pillars Of Islam
  • 5 Pillars of Islam and 3 Types of Muslims Essay
  • Five Pillars of Islam Essay
  • Five Pillars of Islam Essay
  • The Five Pillars of Islam
  • The Five Pillars of Islam Essay
  • Five Pillars of Islam Essay

Become a StudyMode Member

Sign Up - It's Free