Virginia Woolf, Bloomsbury Group

Virginia Woolf, 1882-1941

Virginia Woolf in 1902,
by George Charles Beresford
Biographical note
Virginia Woolf (January 25, 1882 - March 28, 1941) was a English author and feminist. Born Adeline Virginia Stephens in London she was brought up and educated at home. In 1895 following the death of her mother she had the first of numerous nervous breakdowns. Following the death of her father (Sir Leslie Stephen, a literary critic) in 1904, she moved with her sister and two brothers to a house in Bloomsbury. She began writing professionally in 1905, initially for the Times Literary Supplement. In 1912 she married Leonard Woolf, a civil servant and political theorist. Her first novel, The Voyage Out, was published in 1915. Between the wars, Woolf was a significant figure in London literary society and a member of the Bloomsbury group. In March 1941, Woolf drowned herself in the River Ouse, near her Rodmell residence. She had published ten (?) novels and over 500 essays. Works

* The Voyage Out [1915]
* Night and Day [1919]
* Jacob's Room [1920]
* Mrs Dalloway [1925]
* To the Lighthouse [1927]
* Orlando [1928]
* The Waves [1931]
* Flush: A Biography [1933]
* The Years [1937]
* Between the Acts [1941]
Short Stories
* Monday or Tuesday [1921]
1. A Haunted House
2. A Society
3. Monday or Tuesday
4. An Unwritten Novel
5. The String Quartet
6. Blue & Green
7. Kew Gardens
8. The Mark on the Wall
* A Haunted House and other short stories [1944]
9. A Haunted House
10. Monday or Tuesday
11. An Unwritten Novel
12. The String Quartet
13. Kew Gardens
14. The Mark on the Wall
15. The New Dress
16. The Shooting Party
17. Lappin and Lapinova
18. Solid Objects
19. The Lady in the Looking–Glass
20. The Duchess and the Jeweller
21. Moments of...
tracking img