Erikson's Eight Stages of Development

Topics: Developmental psychology, Erikson's stages of psychosocial development, Morality Pages: 3 (901 words) Published: September 21, 2008
This paper is an analysis and brief review of Erickson’s theory of development to Kohlberg's developmental model of moral development, which include punishment and obedience orientation; individualism, instrumental purpose and exchange; mutual interpersonal expectations, relationships, and interpersonal conformity; social system and conscience; social contract or utility; and individual rights and universal ethical principals. In addition to the stages of moral development, this paper analyzes how these theories have affected your development from birth to adulthood. This learner would talk about and compare both moral development theories connecting Kohlberg and Eriksson development model. These theories have many practical applications in life settings such as elementary school, developmental theory, moral development, and gender and cultural influences. Trusts Vs Mistrust

A life-span- boy for Erickson’s theory of the trust versus mistrust, this stage is marked by developing trust is the first task of ego, this stage is important in developing the child's sense of initiative. The child develops the stability of trust with mistrust depends mostly on the quality of motherly relationship. the basic psychosocial attitude to be learned at this stage is that you can trust the world in the form of your mother, that she will come back and feed you, that she will feed you the right thing in the right quantity at the right time, and that when you are uncomfortable she will come and make you comfortable, and so on (Evans & Erikson, 1967, p. 15). Preconventional

Kohlberg’s stage theory of psychosocial development provides us with moral reasoning by studying children’s reasoning about moral dilemmas. He named the preconventional stage, in which he believed that this concept stage is too difficult for children in advance to moral reasoning, moral development, within the level of stage heteronomous orientation focuses on avoiding breaking rules that backed by punishment....
Continue Reading

Please join StudyMode to read the full document

You May Also Find These Documents Helpful

  • Erikson's Eight Stages of Development Essay
  • Erikson's Eight Stages of Development Essay
  • Erik Erikson’s Eight Developmental Stages Essay
  • Erikson’s Stages of Psychosocial Development Essay
  • Erik Erikson's Stages of Development Essay
  • Erikson's Stages of Development Essay
  • Erikson's Stages of Psychosocial Development Essay
  • Erikson's Stages of Development Essay

Become a StudyMode Member

Sign Up - It's Free