Erick Erickson Timeline Theory

Topics: Erikson's stages of psychosocial development, Erik Erikson, Developmental psychology Pages: 3 (880 words) Published: November 26, 2012
|University of phoenix | |Erikson’s Timeline | | |October 7, 2012 | |PSY/230 Psychology |

|This assignment is based on Erik Erikson’s 8 stages of psychosocial development theory of life. |

Erik Erikson Timeline Theory

Erik Erikson display eight stages of psychosocial development which developed human beings pass through from infancy to late adulthood. Throughout these stages the person confronts, and masters new challenges. Each stage calibrates together in order to build a successful completion of earlier stages. Erikson’s eight stages of life theory are 0-2 years, 2-4 years, 4-5 years, 5-12 years, 13-19 years, 20-24 years, 25-64 years, and 65-death. This is according to Erikson’s timeline theory chart.

Erikson’s first stage theory revolves around infant’s basic needs and interaction necessary in order to develop trust or mistrust by their parents. During this stage hope (trust vs. mistrust) is developed. The second stage theory of life according to Erikson’s is will (autonomy vs. shame and doubt) this occurs between 2-4 years of age. The third stage theory of life is purpose (initiative vs. guilt) this stage occurs around preschool 4-5 years of age. The fourth stage theory of life is competence (industry vs. inferiority) this stage occurs around 5-12 years of age. The fifty stage theory of life is...
Continue Reading

Please join StudyMode to read the full document

You May Also Find These Documents Helpful

  • Essay about Erick Erickson
  • Erick Theory Essay
  • Erickson Theory Essay
  • Erickson S Theory Research Paper
  • Ericksons Psychosocial Theory Essay
  • Erickson Essay
  • Erickson Essay
  • Research: Erick Ericksons Stages of Development Essay

Become a StudyMode Member

Sign Up - It's Free