Describing Cpt Coding Categories

Topics: Common carotid artery, Code, Category Pages: 2 (277 words) Published: September 9, 2012
There are three categories listed of CPT codes: Category I, Category II, and Category III. There are key or buzzwords for using the three CPT code categories are common, optional, and temporary. Category I codes are the code most used of all of the listed categories and is known as common codes. This category contains procedures and services like: 1. Evaluation and Management codes

2. Anesthesiology codes
3. Surgery codes
4. Radiology codes
5. Pathology and Laboratory codes
6. Medicine codes
Category I code examples are:
99201 - Evaluation and Management service for a new patient. 11200 – Removal of skin tags.
Category II codes are known as supplemental tracking codes and can be used in performance measures. Category II codes are known as optional codes. The codes describe clinical components that may be included in the evaluation and management services. This category is not paid by insurance companies and the codes are used to help develop the best care and to improve documentation. This category contains procedures and services like: 1000F - Tobacco use assessed.

1005F - Asthma symptoms evaluated.
2000F – Blood pressure measured.

Category III codes will allow data collection for procedures and services. Codes in this category are used for emerging technology, procedures and services. If there is a category III code that is available for the services rendered then this code must be used instead of an unlisted code from category I. Category III codes are known as temporary and have an alphabet for the fifth digit of the code. This category contains procedures and services like: 0075T - Transcatheter placement of extracranial vertebral or intrathoracic carotid artery stent. 0103T - Holotranscobalamin, quantitative.

0210T – Speech audiometry threshold, automated.
Continue Reading

Please join StudyMode to read the full document

You May Also Find These Documents Helpful

  • Essay on Describing Cpt Coding Categories
  • Describing CPT Coding Categories Essay
  • Essay on Cpt Coding Categories
  • Cpt Coding Categories Essay
  • CPT Coding Essay
  • Describing Cpt Modifiers Essay
  • Coding Essay
  • Essay about Defining CPT Code Categories

Become a StudyMode Member

Sign Up - It's Free