Cricket World Cup 2011

Only available on StudyMode
  • Topic: Cricket, International Cricket Council, Cricket World Cup
  • Pages : 2 (586 words )
  • Download(s) : 11871
  • Published : March 27, 2011
Open Document
Text Preview
Cricket world cup 2011

Cricket is a bat-and-ball team sport that is first documented as being played in southern England in the 16th century. By the end of the 18th century, cricket had developed to the point where it had become the national sport of England. The expansion of the British Empire led to cricket being played overseas and by the mid-19th century the first international matches were being held. Today, the game's governing body, the International Cricket Council (ICC), has 104 member countries.

This international tournament dates back to the year 1975 (when it was played for the first time in England) and is regarded as the leading international championship of men's One Day International (ODI) cricket. The participating teams include each one of the ten Test-playing. Apart from that, the nations that qualify through the World Cup Qualifier are also included as the contenders.

Till date, ICC World Cup has been organized nine times (with the last tournament being held in West Indies in the year 2007 and won by Australia). Out of these nine tournaments, the Australian team has won the most times i.e. four, followed by the West Indies team with two wins in its hand. India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka, each of the teams has won the World Cup only once up till now. 

ICC Cricket World Cup is scheduled to be held in the year 2011, with India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh playing as the hosts. Cricket fans all over the world are now just waiting for the game to begin!...

ICC Cricket World Cup is the premier international championship of men's One Day International (ODI) cricket . The event is organised by the sport's governing body, the International Cricket Council (ICC), with preliminary qualification rounds leading up to a finals tournament which is held every four years

The Laws of Cricket. These are maintained by the ICC and the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC).

* A cricket match is played on a cricket field at the centre of which is a...
tracking img