Course Outline

Only available on StudyMode
  • Download(s) : 303
  • Published : January 27, 2013
Open Document
Text Preview
CENTRE FOR EDUCATION PROGRAMMES

CENTRE FOR EDUCATION PROGRAMMES

CENTRE FOR EDUCATION PROGRAMME

1. Course Outline
COURSE CODE: LANG1002| COURSE NAME: Academic Reading, Writing and Research Skills| COURSE LEVEL: Undergraduate| YEAR: 2012-2013 | | | | SEMESTER: II|
HOURS PER WEEK: 3 | TOTAL HOURS: 45| CREDITS: 3 | START DATE: January, 2013| END DATE: April, 2013| PREREQUISITES: Successful completion LANG1001 (EDFN101B) – Written Communication| COURSE COORDINATOR:Ms. Gomatee Ramnarine| Phone: Office: 642-8888EXT: 29132Mobile: 765-6587| Office Hours:| Email: Gomatee.ramnarine@utt.edu.tt| INSTRUCTORS:| Office Phone Extensions:| Other Phone: | Office Hours:| Email Addresses:| Charmaine Brunton-Andrews | 29160| 765-5955| | charmaine.brunton-andrews@utt.edu.tt| Barbara Constance| 29135| 494-3400| | barbara.constance@utt.edu.tt| Salima Geetan | 25079| 356-1637| | salima.geetan@utt.edu.tt| Nicole Henry| | 710-5484| | nicole.henry@utt.edu.tt|

Barbara Joseph| | 465-3372| | Barbara.joseph@utt.edu.tt| Nicaise Joseph-McKenna | 26446| 290-2419| | nicaise.joseph@utt.edu.tt| Lenore Lortie| 29146| 357-3354| | lenore.lortie@utt.edu.tt| Kumar Mahabir | 28140| 756-4961| | kumar.mahabir@utt.edu.tt| Gomatee Ramnarine| 29132| 765-6587| | gomatee.ramnarine@utt.edu.tt| Kathleen Robinson| | 755-8008| | kathleen.robinson@utt.edu.tt| Nicha Selvon-Ramkissoon| 28144| 687-3154| | nicha.s-ramkissoon@utt.edu.tt| Tricia Smith| 32163| 744-2683| | Trinicapricorn5@hotmail.com|

RECOMMENDED TEXTS

* Fields, Linda, Hazel Simmons-McDonald, and Peter Roberts. (1997). Writing in English: A Course Book for Caribbean Students. Kingston: Ian Randle Publishers Limited. * Hodge, Merle. (1997). The Knots in English: A Guide For Caribbean Users. Massachusetts: Calaloux Publications.

* Hodges, J, and M. Whitten. (1998). Harbrace College Handbook. 13th ed. London: Harcourt Brace.
* Kennedy, Mary Lynch, and Hadley M. Smith. (2006). Reading and Writing in the Academic Community. New Jersey: Prentice Hall.
* Robertson, Hugh. (1999). The Research Essay: A Guide to Essays and Papers. 4th ed. Piperhill Publications.

INTERNET RESOURCES
* Academic Phrasebook. Retrieved from http://www.phrasebank.manchester.ac.uk * Gillet, A. (2012). Using English for Academic Purposes: A Guide for Students in Higher Education from http://www.uefap.com

* Managing Your References. Retrieved from http://www.le.ac.uk/li/research/citing.html * The Writing Lab. Owl at Purdue English Department. (n.d.) Retrieved 04 August, 2012 from Purdue University website at http://owl.english.purdue.edu/writinglab/policies

COURSE DESCRIPTION

This course introduces students to the fundamentals of academic research and strategies for reading and evaluating written discourses. It also introduces students to the rhetorical modes of argumentation/persuasion and reflective writing. The core focus of this course is to sensitize students to academic reading and research conventions. It also exposes them to, and equips them with, the strategies for writing for different purposes.

COURSE GOALS

The purpose of this course is to:
* Enhance and develop skills in critical reading and evaluation of written discourse. * Enhance and develop research skills (including, but not limited to, strategies for writing research papers). * Enhance and develop skills in writing argumentative/persuasive and reflective pieces.

LEARNING OUTCOMES

At the end of this course, students should be able to:
* Understand and put into practice the fundamental principles of academic research. * Conceptualise research as a process (selecting a topic, gathering sources, evaluating sources, writing notes, writing an outline, drafting,...
tracking img