Comparing Two Gospels

Only available on StudyMode
  • Download(s) : 190
  • Published : April 23, 2013
Open Document
Text Preview
Claudia Corbetta
April 5, 2013

The Bible is a collection of texts considered sacred in Christianity. Separated in many sections, the Bible includes four gospels by four different authors that tell stories, miracles, parables, teaching and stories telling the world on Jesus’ life. The gospels are named after the four apostils Mark, Matthew, Luke and John. Each gospel has similarities and differences in many aspects, but they all have a common end: they all tell the story of Jesus of Nazareth. The Gospel of Mark is directed towards gentile Christians, because he has to explain Semitic terms that Christians might not understand. It shows that the author is unfamiliar with the geography and is unfamiliar with Jewish customs. This gospel is also the earliest one written and narrates the Ministry of Jesus, including the baptism all the way to Jesus’ death and resurrection. Mark doesn’t have any information about his life before the baptism or his genealogy, it simply says that he “came out of Galilee”, similar to Johns gospel that mentions he is of Galilean origin. Throughout Mark’s gospel, Jesus is named the “Son of Man” (MK 2:28). Referring him as and agent of God that will wipe out all evil and Israel will be in power. There are two types of gospels written. There is the high Christology and the low Christology or also named Christology from above and below. Between Marks gospel and Johns gospel they are both written in two types of ways. Mark’s gospel is considered to be a synoptic gospel with a low Christology. This means that the gospel writers begin with the earthly Jesus where his divinity is revealed. The gospel shows has examples of Jesus being human and shows emotions that he might feel and mistakes that he might make. An example of this is when Jesus is healing the blind, his humanity is shown here because he tries twice to heal the blind instead of being able to heal him twice (MK 8:22-26). It also means that the life of Jesus of Nazareth...
tracking img