Assessment and Quality Assurance

Topics: Assessment, Evaluation, National Vocational Qualification Pages: 5 (1213 words) Published: February 24, 2012
Training, Assessment, Quality Assurance (6317) Qualification Information Policy Statement It has come to our attention that the acronym 'TAQA' has been adopted by a private training provider as their company name. The TAQA acronym has been used by City & Guilds since early in 2010 to represent the group of Training Assessment and Quality Assurance qualifications which were launched in September 2010. City & Guilds has no relationship with the training provider and does not in any way endorse their work, services or products. LLUK Consultation for Learning and Development Awards The TAQA Assessment and Internal Quality Assurance qualifications that replaced the A&V units were launched in September 2010.

The TAQA qualifications - see also the FAQs attached to the webpage 'TAQA' stands for: T...raining A...ssessment Q...uality A...ssurance These qualifications are for anyone working in - or hoping to take up a role in assessment and internal quality assurance. They were developed by LLUK to replace the Assessor and Verifier (A&V) units which expired on 31 December 2010. They are designed for use in England, Wales and Northern Ireland - a different set of qualifications exists in Scotland. The TAQA units and qualifications provide people who carry out assessment and internal quality assurance roles in their organisation with the opportunity to develop and improve their practice as well as achieving a professional qualification for their roles. They have been developed for those working in accredited learning, nonaccredited learning, the NQF and the QCF. There are awards and a certificate at level 3 in assessment and awards and a certificate at level 4 in internal quality assurance. In addition - to complete the suite of qualifications - during 2011 units and qualifications for trainers and tutors will be launched. The qualifications consist of a mix of units - some competence-based and some knowledge-based units. The knowledge-only units (which are titled 'Understanding the principles and practices of...') allow anyone who is interested in or needs to know about assessment and quality assurance - but is not a practitioner - to acquire knowledge and information about the roles. Successful achievers will understand the principles of assessment and internal quality assurance and have the knowledge to develop and improve systems at their centre. These qualifications will eventually be part of a full framework of qualifications for trainers, assessors and quality assurance personnel.

Existing Qualifications Ofqual stated in 2010 that there is no mandatory requirement to re-qualify, re-train or upskill to the TAQA units. However all centres must ensure that all their assessors and internal quality assurance staff (IQAs - previously known as IVs) - irrespective of sector - are working in line with the March 2010 National Occupational Standards (NOS) for Learning & Development, including those for assessment and IQA. The NOS can be found on the LSIS website on the following link: Centres can confirm that their staff are in compliance with the NOS by monitoring staff performance against the standards using routine methods such as observations of assessment practice, quality monitoring, sampling, etc. City & Guilds recommends that centres carry out a Training Needs Analysis for all assessors and IQA staff against the relevant NOS Standards and then plan to meet any CPD needs identified in that process. CPD events are underway to assist centre staff to benchmark between the A&V units and the TAQA qualifications. These are being delivered across the UK on a monthly basis throughout 2011. What are the main differences between A1 and V1 and the TAQA qualifications? There are a number of key differences: • • • • • • The TAQA qualifications have been written for QCF so are credit rated, written on the QCF template, and have QCF levels - which differ from NVQ levels and are available as awards and certificates There are...
Continue Reading

Please join StudyMode to read the full document

You May Also Find These Documents Helpful

  • Risk and Quality Management Assessment Essay
  • Quality Assurance and Assessment Professional Certificate Essay
  • Quality Assurance Essay
  • Quality Assurance Essay
  • Quality Assurance Essay
  • Quality Assurance and Quality Improvement Processes Research Paper
  • quality assurance Essay
  • Essay on Quality Assurance

Become a StudyMode Member

Sign Up - It's Free