Articles I, Ii, and Iii of the Constitution: the Three Groups of Government

Only available on StudyMode
  • Download(s) : 114
  • Published : February 17, 2013
Open Document
Text Preview
Articles I, II, and III of the Constitution

Beverly Campbell, Christian Santos, Jerry Mulligan, Kristina Thomas, & Yolanda Higdon


January 28, 2013
Instructor Joseph Richardson

Articles I, II, and III of the Constitution
According to "The White House" (n.d.), “The Constitution of the United States of America is the supreme law of the United States. Empowered with the sovereign authority of the people by the framers and the consent of the legislatures of the states, it is the source of all government powers, and also provides important limitations on the government that protect the fundamental rights of United States citizens” (The Constitution). The framers of the Constitution formed three groups of government known as the Executive Branch, the Judicial Branch, and the Legislative Branch, limiting the power of each branch. The three branches of government are documented in the Constitution under Articles I, II, and III, which explains who and what powers are held by each branch. Reasons for Divided Government

America's forefathers were worried that our system might over run by a strong congressional leader or president. The founding fathers of this country wanted a strong and fair national government, but they also wanted to protect individual freedom and prevent the government from abusing its power so they divided the government cleverly into three separate branches of government, the legislative, judicial and executive branch so that no one has absolute power over the other. All three branches would have equal power and they can keep each other in check. Check and balances ensures against one branch becoming too powerful and ruling the others. Legislative branch is made up of the houses of Congress-the Senate and the House of Representatives. The legislative branch makes laws which are written, discussed, and voted on in Congress. Congress cannot pass laws without passing through the president, unless cases...
tracking img