Topics: Philippines, Corazon Aquino, Ferdinand Marcos Pages: 11 (2411 words) Published: October 9, 2011
Chapter 10 Period of the Third Republic (1981-1985)

After ten years of military rule and some changes in the life of the Filipino which started under the New Society, Martial Rule was at last lifted on January 2, 1981.

To those in government, the lifting of military rule heralded a change. To their perceptions, the Philippines became a new nation and this; former President Marcos called “The New Republic of the Philippines.”

A historian called this the Third Republic. The First Republic he claimed was during the Philippine Republic of Emilio Aguinaldo when we first got our independence form the Spaniards on June 12, 1898.

The Second was when the Americans granted us our independence on July 4, 1946. This period, January 2, 1981, was the Third Republic when we were freed from Military Rule.

During this period, it cannot be denied that many people seethed with rebellion and protest because of the continued oppression and suppression.

This was further aggravated when former Senator Benigno S. Aquno Jr., the idol of the Filipino masses, whom they hoped to be the next president, was president, was brutally murdered on August 21, 1983.

This stage of the nation had its effect on our literature. After the Aquino assassinated, the people’s voices could no long be contained. Both the public and private sectors in government were chanting, and shouting; women, men and the youth became bolder and their voices were raised in dissent.


-The Don Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for literature

- launched in 1950 (see Chapter 7, The Renaissance Period)

- continued its recognition of the best in the literary fields – poetry, short story, essays, and the one and three-act plays.

In 1981, the winners were the following:

First Prize:Jessie B. Garcia’s –“In Hog Heaven”

Second Prize:Luning Bonifacio – Ira’s “The Party Hopper”

Third Prize:Jesus Q. Cruz – “In These Hallowed Halls”

In 1982, those who won were:

First Prize:“Heart Island” by Jose Dalisay Jr.

Second Prize:“Pas de Deux” by Azucena Grajo Uranza

Third Prize:“The Sky Is Always Blue” by Joe Marie A. Abueg

In 1983, the mood was restive, characteristics of the times. The nation was angry after the murder of opposition leader Benigno Aquino but the awards ceremonies continued after a delay. The winners are:

First Prize:“Oldtimer” by Jose Dalisay Jr.

Second Prize:“Games” by Jesus O. Cruz

Third Prize:“Perfect Sunday” by Jose Y. Ayala

First Prize in poetry (Pilipino): Jose F. Lacaba

Second Prize (English essay): Gregorio Brillantes

Third Prize (English essay): Adrian Cristobal

In 1984, the winners were:

First Prize:“The Reprieve” by Susan S. Lara

Second Prize:“The Tangerine Gumamela” by Sylvia Mendez Ventura

Third Prize co-winner:“The Little Wars of Filemon Sayre” by Lemuel Torrevillas

Third Prize:“Stranger in an Asian City” by Gregorio Brillantes

In 1985, those who won were:

First Prize:“The Hand of God” by Conrado de Quiros

First Prize:“A Novel Prize for Jorge” by Eli Ang Barroso

No awards for second prize

Third Prize:“Mecca of the East” by Charles Loong

In 1984, the Palanca Awards started choosing the best in novel writing. This contest, held every three years, gives time for local writers to write more beautiful and quality works. The next contest on the best novel was held in 1987. La Tondeña continues to be its sponsor.


Poems during this period of the Third Republic were romantic and revolutionary. Writers wrote openly of their criticism against the government. The supplications of the people were coached in fiery, colorful, violent, profane and insulting language.


Many Filipino songs dealt with themes that were really true-to-life like those of grief, poverty, aspirations for freedom, love of God, of country and of fellowmen.

Composers grieved over Ninoy...
Continue Reading

Please join StudyMode to read the full document

Become a StudyMode Member

Sign Up - It's Free